Term 7, Digital Painting Fundamentals I, Week 1

Week of April 11, 2022

litmusik
3 min readApr 18, 2022

For context, see the description of my Art Home School Curriculum.

Retrospective

I was struggling with environment painting so much last week that I decided I needed to start at the beginning with digital painting fundamentals. I spent the whole week just painting boxes and spheres. These are the initial digital painting assignments that students do at FZD school of design. Also, airbrush isn’t allowed on these, so all the blending was done with a hard, round brush. I learned a ton this week.

Log

Over 40 hours of painting. A new record!

Drawings and Critiques

3 pages of rendered boxes.

My soft shadow edges are pretty bad in this first batch, but after I started using the smudge tool they got a lot better.

3 pages of modified boxes.

Sphere constructions.

I spent a lot of time learning how to correctly construct a sphere, it’s terminator, and it’s cast shadow. All this information is in Scott Robertson’s “How to Render.”

3 pages of rendered spheres.

They definitely come out better when I take the time to do a full perspective plot. I still have one more page of these to do next week.

--

--