Term 7, Brainstorm School Summer 2022, Week 4

Week of June 6, 2022

litmusik
3 min readJun 13, 2022

For full context, see the description of my Art Home School Curriculum.

Retrospective

This is the last week of the VisCom flash course, and next week I start Perspective Boot Camp (PBC) at Brainstorm school. I spent 26 hours on the FND 1 homework this week and didn’t even finish everything. It might be tough to keep up with 2 classes and a full time job if the homework continues to be that heavy. Another option is to take the number of pages I have to do and divide 20 hours by it and be better about time management.

Log

Drawings and Critiques

The power went out for a while so I drew my plastic model skull for a while.

Brainstorm FND 1 week 4 homework.

Rotating an object is probably the best way to understand itin 3D.

Animal skulls from reference.

My favorites are the raven skulls on the last page.

Animal skeletons from reference.

I tried to draw some of these at a slightly different angle from the reference. That was the advice that the VisCom course instructor gave. I can really feel myself understanding the forms better when I do that. I still have to render these, but we didn’t have class today (the teacher was out of town), so I have another week to work on them.

Brainstorm VisCom Flash week 4 homework.

I spent 6 or 7 hours on the semi carefully measuring everything out in perspective. Then for the old car, I tried to do it quickly without so much measuring. It only took 2.5 hours, but you can tell it’s sloppier.

--

--