Figure Drawing II Unit Plan

January 18 to February 14, 2021

litmusik
2 min readJan 17, 2021

For full context, see the description of my Art Home School Curriculum.

Resources

Watts Figure Drawing Phase I

I’m going to keep the resources light for this unit because I usually have way to much material to choose from. I’m returning to the Watts online courses because so far that has been my favorite form of instruction that I’ve found online.

Backup

If I finish Figure Drawing Phase I, then I’ll probably continue on with Figure Drawing Phase II (there are 5 phases total).

Art Parent

Frank Frazetta. I just watched the “Painting with Fire” documentary so all his work is fresh in my mind. Also, I have his Icon book checked out from the library for the next 30 days.

Challenges

30 days of Croquis Cafe gesture sessions. I’ll use this as a 20 minute warmup every day.

Inspiration

I’m reading Practicing: A Musician’s Return to Music by Glenn Kurtz. It’s focused on practicing guitar (which I play), but it gets at the heart of what it means to walk any path of mastery, and many of the insights so far are also relevant to art.

Exercises

In the previous unit I listed lots of helpful exercises, but I failed to stick with half of them. I’ll try to do a better job this month.

Copy Frazetta Art

I’ll copy from the “Icon” book for 45 minutes each morning before work.

Mannequinize Comic Art

The Watts Figure Drawing Phase I class goes over several different ways to mannequinize the figure. I can practice these techniques on dynamic poses from comics.

Master Studies

On the weekends I would like to attempt some longer form master studies of comic art.

--

--